Newbery Award Winners, 1922-1997

It's Like This, Cat by Emily Neville A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L'Engle The Bronze Bow by Elizabeth G. Speare Island of the Blue Dolphins by Scott O'Dell Onion John by Joseph Krungold The Witch of Blackbird Pond by Elizabeth G. Speare Riffles for Watie by Harold V. Keith Miracles On Maple Hill by Virginia Sorensen Carry On,Mr. Bowditch by Jean Lee Latham The Wheel on the School by Meindert DeJong . . . And Now Miguel by Joseph Krumgold Secret of the Andes by Ann Nolan Clark Ginger Pye by Eleanor Estes Amos Fortune,Free Man by Elizabeth Yates The Door in the Wall by Marguerite De Angeli King of the Wind by Marguerite Henry The Twenty-One Balloons by William Pene DeBois Miss Hickory by Carolyn S. Bailey Strawberry Girl by Lois Lenski Rabbit Hill by Robert Lawson Johnny Tremain by Esther Forbes Adam of the Road by Elizabeth Janet Gray The Matchlock Gun by Walter D. Edmonds Call It Courage by Armstrong Sperry Daniel Boone by: James Daugherty Thimble Summer by Elizabeth Enright The White Stag by Kate Seredy Roller Skates by Ruth Sawyer Caddie Woodlawn by Carol Ryrie Brink Dobry by Monica Shannon Invincible Louisa by Cornelia Meigs Young Fu of the Upper Yangtze by Elizabeth Lewis Waterless Mountain by Laura Armer The Cat Who Went to Heaven by Elizabeth Coatsworth Hitty,Her First Hundred Years by Rachel Field The Trumpeter of Krakow by Eric P. Kelly Gay-Neck by Dhan Mukerji Smoky by Will James Shen of the Sea by Arthur Chrisman Tales from Silver Lands by Charles Finger The Dark Frigate by Charles Hawes The Voyages of Dr. Dolittle by Hugh Lofting The Story of Mankind by Hendrik Van Loon